Eclectic Escapades

I’ve been all over the place this week.

On Tuesday, I didn’t feel like running my usual route. I ran about 3.1 miles of it, and then had a moment of inspiration. Kinda sick inspiration when I think about it now….

I generally run from Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park, but Tuesday I decided to run UP THE MOUNTAIN. This was so hard and I went so slow. But that reminds me how with running, sometimes it doesn’t matter how fast you’re going. There are those days when the victory is lacing up your shoes again, when the victory is taking that extra step, when the victory is pacing each person walking up that mountain.

IMG_1988

Plus, the view was gorgeous. And the run down the mountain was one of the most fun I’ve had in a while, despite my quivering legs.

IMG_1993

The picture's blurry (the downhill had me running that fast), but I saw a deer too!
The picture’s blurry (the downhill had me running that fast), but I saw a deer too!

Then on Wednesday I got to catch up with a friend that I hadn’t seen in about 2 weeks. Sometimes schedules just don’t overlap, but we were both missing each other and decided to make it work.

IMG_2002

We went to Tijuana Garage, this cute Tex-Mex place that served chips in buckets! Hello carbo-loading….. Seriously though, salty tortilla chips are the best thing after a run. I inhaled these.

IMG_2004 IMG_2003

Then we split an order of fajitas, plus rice and beans. I always pack my fajitas too much, which means I end up looking like a 5-year-old with food spilling everywhere. But it also means that I look like a very HAPPY 5-year-old. There was also this cute fountain we sat by, and when the day darkened, festive lights came on. You wouldn’t think you were in Atlanta. It felt more like the Riverwalk in San Antonio, TX. Tijuana Garage was a perfect retreat mid-week.

IMG_2006IMG_2009

By the time Friday rolled around, I had had a long week at work. So, keeping it classy for the evening, I treated myself to a St. Germain cocktail, some salmon, and a good book.

IMG_2019

To make a St. Germain cocktail is really easy. Start with 2 parts (a part is an oz) dry white wine or champagne. Add 1.5 parts St. Germain (which is elderflower liqueur). Top with 2 parts club soda (the order matters), and stir. I didn’t have a lemon, but it should really be garnished with a lemon peel. (Note: don’t put in lemon juice. The juice dilutes the flavor, whereas the peel brings it all together).

For the salmon, I got really fancy. Simply take a filet and season it with some olive oil, salt, and pepper. Cook it in a skillet on both sides, skin side up first. After turning it over, top with pesto. Simple, easy, and delicious.

I got a little more involved with my post-run sandwich today, but not much.

photo 4

I put Dijon mustard on one side (a ton!) and Greek yogurt on the other (just enough to keep the bread moist). Then I layered in a mix of spinach and kale, red onions, and then enough beets to turn my teeth pink. I’m a firm believer in hot sandwiches, so I did this one on the stove top just long enough to turn the veggies tender and perfect. If you try this, it would  be even better with some feta sprinkled in there, I just didn’t have any at the moment.

After eating this and popping in a load of laundry, I promptly fell asleep for 2 hours. That is a day done right.

Leave a Reply

