Bar Review – Bear Naked

Anyone else get super excited over energy bars?

When energy bars are on sale, I go to TOWN. I’m like a kid in a candy store. I’m like a squirrel storing nuts for winter. I stock up like the apocalypse is coming.

IMG_2258
The spoils!

 

Added to my already massive stock-pile. I may or may not have more bars that aren't pictured....... but no, I don't have a problem.
Added to my already massive stock-pile. I may or may not have more bars that aren’t pictured……. but no, I don’t have a problem.

If you’ve got a Kroger near you, go! They almost always have some sort of 10 for $10 deal on bars, including bars like Clif, Luna, Larabars, Powerbars, and more! And, they usually give you the $1/bar price even if you don’t buy 10. Hungry runner, meet Kroger. Kroger, meet the person who’s about to clear out your shelves.

I always try some new bars and stick with some old standbys. You can’t get more classic that a chocolate PowerBar, but I’m also all for these new kale citrus chocolate bars. The chocolate part is a must though. I think it physically hurts me to buy a bar that doesn’t have chocolate. White chocolate doesn’t count.

Recently, I tried a new brand of bar called Bear Naked. They’re really good! Since there’s a million ba-jillion different types of bars out there, I’ll tell y’all what some of the ones I try are like. Then, discerning consumers that you are, you can wage your assault against the shelves of energy bars with every tool at your disposal.

IMG_1845 photo 5

For Bear Naked, I tried both of these bad boys – Almond Cranberry and Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter. I saved the Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter for last because I figured it’d be better. Let’s face it – chocolate and peanut butter, is there anything ever wrong with that picture? (pst – the answer is no. unless you’re allergic to peanuts, I guess, in which case I mourn for you and your taste buds). Surprisingly, the Almond Cranberry was better. Better texture, better natural taste. Although, if they had drizzled the top with chocolate, it would have been perfection. (no, I don’t have a chocolate obsession, what makes you ask?) Both bars are thick and have a really good texture – think Clif bars but less concentrated – so that you can really see the ingredients that go in. They pack around 8-9g protein too, so they’re great for the hungry runner.

Would I get them again? Absolutely. Although I might skip the Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter one. There’s a lot of bar companies out there that do some chocolate/pb variation, and Bear Naked’s just isn’t the top of the list. The Cranberry Almond, though, is a winner every time.

Check them out!

Do you have a bar I should try?

What’s your favorite bar?

 

Leave a Reply

