Running in the Rain is Better than Singing in the Rain

TSP_10428934Okay, so I don’t know if it’s really true that running in the rain is better than singing in it. Both are pretty great. All I know is some guy shouted it at me around mile 11 this morning and it got me running faster.

This morning I ran the Hotlanta Half that wound its way through the neighborhoods of Atlanta. We went by the World of Coke and the Aquarium, the golden-domed capital building, the Olympic rings, the beltline, Piedmont Park, and more.

Well, 13.1 miles is a lot of time for thinking, so I got to it. Here are some of my reflections from the day.

During the week, sometimes even 8 am feels early. For a run, rising in the dark NEVER does.

Getting up early for a race NEVER feels early. Getting up on a weekday for school/work somehow retains that power, despite being 2 or more hours later.

It’s pretty awesome to run in the rain. It trains you well, both your body and your mind. Nothing like a puddle 8-inches deep to put a pep in your step and make you feel unstoppable. It also reminds you – not every run is going to be perfect. Just like life, sometimes you have to get out there on those days where the conditions are less than favorable, where you have 20 things to complain about and 30 things to do. We can’t control a lot of life, but we can control our responses to it. Running in the rain is an opportunity to let go of some control and add in a dose of flexible acceptance.

I’ve got a SERIOUS love of running. And maybe a bit of a problem. I kid you not. I was driving back from the race and passed a bit of one of my running routes. My first thought was, “Oo, I could go for a run right now.” Mind you, that running route is a 6 mile loop. Thankfully, I decided to at least pretend like a sane person, and I went home and showered instead.

Running is supposed to be fun. Duh, I know. But here’s why I forgot that. TMI warning. I’ve been having GI issues for the last month or so. It’s seriously put me off my feet and off my running game. On good days I was able to get 4 miles in before making a more speedy run in the direction of the bathroom. I tried to keep my running form up by doing short jaunts on a treadmill or longer stints on an elliptical, but as you all know, it’s not the same. Even a treadmill doesn’t compare to getting out on Atlanta’s hills, amidst the heat and humidity. I was worried going into this race that I wasn’t going to do well, until I caught myself. It’s not like I was running to be a top female finisher. Heck, at the end of the day, the goal isn’t even to PR. The goal is to have fun. But suddenly I was robbing myself of that with all my concerns. I took a breath and ran to enjoy the sights and sounds and the way my body could move…. and I got a PR! It’s a nice perk, but because I wasn’t caring about it, I would have had a nice run without it. The PR is just the icing on the cake – and let’s face it, some cakes are rich enough that you don’t even need icing. For those of you icing aficionados out there who think I just spoke some sort of blasphemy, just let me make you my chocolate cake. Challenge accepted. Also, Imodium is the greatest.

Properly drenched, thoroughly happy.
Properly drenched, thoroughly happy.

 

One thought on “Running in the Rain is Better than Singing in the Rain

Leave a Reply

