Bar Review – Clif Bar Berry Pomegranate Chia – and Trying New Things

Clif Bar just came out with a new flavor – Berry Pomegranate Chia.

photo 2_3I’m a huge fan of Clif bars already, so there was a huge chance that I’d like this variety as well. One might say, I set the bar pretty low…. ba-dumch! Sorry, sorry. Bad puns are to me as oxygen is to other people – necessary for life.

BUT, sometimes I have this problem. I love the bars I know. I love Clif Bar Carrot Cake, Chocolate Brownie, Coconut Chocolate Chip, Spiced Pumpkin Pie……. Not like I have a sweet tooth at all or anything.

Anyway, I love the ones I know. So, do I risk it trying something new? 

I think the answer has to be yes, at least often. If you never try anything new, you don’t expand your horizons. You get stuck in your rut, even if it’s a very good rut. You might never discover a new love. You lose the opportunity to cultivate gratitude for what you have.

I’m not saying don’t have favorites or old standbys. There’s something about walking into a coffeeshop where they know you and your usual by name and already have it brewing as you’re walking up. There’s something about Panera where I pretty much always have to get their broccoli cheddar soup in a bread bowl.

The problem is not in enjoying the same thing. The problem is letting fear of the unknown hold you back from greater, or even just different, enjoyment.

photo 1I tried the new Clif Bar, and it was fantastic. There’s a great blend of berries adding sweetness to the bar, and the chia adds good interest, texture, and fiber. The bar is on par!

Leave a Reply

