Making the Time

Recently, someone asked me about my running and exclaimed, “How do you have time for that?”

In the life of a 2L, this is a VERY valid question. I wake up around 7am and keep working pretty steadily until 10/11pm. Lunches are taken over a textbook or the computer screen. Where breaks happen, they consist of talking to a friend in the library, walking home, or (if I’m being honest) checking Facebook. Other “breaks” from studying, researching, and writing consist of going to meetings, planning meetings, and cleaning up from meetings. Sometimes I don’t know where I’m going to find the time for all of my daily duties, let alone a run.

But then, I love running. You make time for the things you love. I make time to run, to read, to spend time with friends because I love those activities and those people. We were made to have and follow our passions and our interests. Now, I’m interested in law. I get very passionate about criminal justice. But I’m not a one-sided human being, and I have to feed all parts of myself.

So, how do you make time for running?

1. Let it be a break

Rather than run early in the morning (which is very nice, I grant you), I run in the afternoon. That’s usually when my brain is complaining and my willpower is starting to sag. Dashing out for a jaunt around the block is just what I need to make me feel that I’ve accomplished something and to give me the energy to come back swinging.

2. Or go in the morning or late evening.

Time it before or after your day and its duties come into your life. If you run in the morning, you’ve gotten your run before the “day” has really started. If you run in the evening, you can process the day. Sometimes you have to watch out for the sunset though – but if you have access to a treadmill, there’s not a lot of gym competition for a treadmill around 9/10pm.

3. Break it up.

Can’t find an hour to go run? Go out for 30 minutes. Or 20. Or whatever time you have. You’ll feel better for having gone out. And, if you want to hit a certain mileage, you can make up those miles later in the day – maybe do a morning and evening run.

4. Make it productive.

Do you have a book you’ve been wanting to read? A sermon you’ve been wanting to listen to? When you can’t make time for each activity on its own, throw on a pair of earbuds and combine them. I made some serious headway on Les Miserables on my last long run.

5. Make it restorative.

Sometimes we get so busy that we don’t stop and reflect on what’s going on in our lives, in our studies, in our heads. Running gives you the space you need to process.

(6. Don’t shower afterwards)

I’m mostly joking on this one, but hey, it sure does save time. An hour run can turn into 1.5-2 hours once you add in stretching, showering, and clothing/hair. Not to mention fueling. Cut out the shower, throw on 20 squirts of body spray, and you just saved yourself a ton of time. Just don’t stand too close to anyone.

 

What do you make time for?

Leave a Reply

