Birthday Shenanigans and Reflections

IMG_2850

You know you’re a runner when…… you had 6 miles on the schedule but because it’s your birthday and the 19th……… you have 3 thoughts.

  1. I’ll run 19 miles! Wait, I don’t have enough fuel with me. Dang, I didn’t bring money with me so I can’t raid a passing gas station for bananas. Argh, I don’t have enough time for 19 miles. (followed shortly by……)
  2. No, I’m turning 23… I’ll run 23 miles!! (the same fuel/money/time dilemmas reassert themselves)
  3. Okay, what can I do? Hmmm… Well, it’s the 19th, and 1 + 9 = 10. Also, I’m turning 23, and 2 + 3 = 5, and 5 x 2 = 10…… I’ll run 10 miles!!

And then you run 10.8 miles because you don’t have a GPS with you.

Needless to say, I spent part of my birthday running, and it was great! I also got the most gorgeously wrapped presents from my parents – did I mention my mom could do this professionally??

IMG_2852IMG_2853

Not to mention the surprise flowers that were delivered…. : )

IMG_2855IMG_2856IMG_2858IMG_2859

Or the sushi with friends….

IMG_2873IMG_2874IMG_2875IMG_2876

Followed shortly by chocolate cake and ice cream….

IMG_2851

The day was great, but it was also a mixed bag. Such is life. Good things happen and bad things happen, in the same life, in the same day, in the same person. I also attended a panel on domestic violence awareness…

IMG_2877

And you know what? I got fed up. Fed up with this world, where things like this happen. Where people treat other people in such ways that no one should ever EVER be treated. I worked on some domestic violence cases this summer, and I was appalled. Appalled at what was done, and appalled at the fact that the perpetrator wasn’t appalled. That the perpetrator could view another human being in such a way as to treat them less than an animal, let alone a person. That the perpetrator told the victim to apologize.

If you see something, say something. Be a safe person that victims feel they can reach out to, and be ready to help if/when they do so. Love these women and men who have been shown everything but true love from those that they trusted. October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month. Please, do your part.

Leave a Reply

