“Snow” Day

Welcome to my snow day.

photo 1_6

If you’re looking for the snow and can’t find it, you’d be correct. That’s rain outside my window. It’s currently 38 degrees and raining in Atlanta, GA, and Emory University has decided to close today starting at 2pm due to anticipated severe weather conditions.

Not that I’m complaining. The weather reports have been calling for freezing rain and some snow in northern parts of Georgia. After what happened in 2010, it’s a good idea to close early and get people off the roads, just in case. Better safe than sorry.

And better to spent the day in pajamas, warm and cozy at home than have to go out in the rain.

photo 2_8
Nothing like Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Pancakes topped with roasted pecans to start the day right.

I’m still studying today, as I do almost every day, but it will be at a different pace. I’ll get to be in my pajamas. Cups of tea will abound. There might be some spontaneous dance parties or watching Making a Murderer. (Side note: has anyone else been watching this? It’s good food for thought, but I’m reserving my opinion until I see the full thing).

Also, I will probably be enjoying a couple of these bad boys. photo 1_7

I made cookies on MLK day, and boy did they turn out good. I followed this recipe, and I halved it.  For the record, half a recipe made 32 cookies for me, so if you make the whole thing, be prepared for a LOT. Also, I didn’t have almonds so I used almond extract instead, and they turned out great. These would be perfect with a cup of tea. They’d also be perfect with chocolate, which is why I then did this…….

photo 2_7photo 3_9

I can’t decide yet which I like better. Guess I’ll just have to keep munching on them!

photo 4_5photo 5_4

Leave a Reply

